Political Instiutions of Germany

The Federal Republic of Germany consists of 16 federal states ("Länder"). Each state has its own constitution, parliament and government, whereas the highest state authority is the federal government with seat in Germany's capital Berlin.

The President of the Federal Republic of Germany

The Basic Law devotes an entire chapter to the role of the Federal President but the duties of the "first man of the state" both at home and abroad go far beyond those bestowed upon him by the constitution.

REGIERUNGonline - The Federal Government

The Press and Information Office of the Federal Government informs.

The Parliament of the Federal Republic of Germany

In addition to the election of the Federal Chancellor, the Bundestag’s most important functions are preparing and adopting legislation and scrutinising the work of the government. Each year, the Members of the Bundestag also discuss and adopt the federal budget.

The Bundesrat

The Bundesrat is one of the five constitutional bodies in Germany. The federal states participate through the Bundesrat in the legislation and administration of the Federation.

Political Institutions of Germany

Bund.de: information on public services in Germany

www.bund.de is the gateway to the services and online information of the German Federal Administration and other public agencies.

Centre for German Legal Information

Anwaltstorso mit Code Civil

The Centre for German Legal Information offers you a comprehensive and freely accessible database on German law. It brings together legislation, translations of court decisions, articles and other law-related documents in a searchable and categorised form